New videos on PEP Web...

...have been added in the past week, including one commemorating 100 years of the IPA (International Psychoanalytic Association). Perhaps most interestingly, the video opens with Sigmund Freud speaking (in English). So if you've ever wonder what the great man looks and sounds like, then this is an opportunity to find out...

PEP Web, with its considerable quantity of full-text psychoanalytic literature (including the complete works of Freud) can be accessed via its link on the library website: PEP Web.

Sage Research Methods...

...is another new addition to the library's expanding range of databases. However, this one is a little different. Rather than specialising in a particular subject area - such as how PsycINFO focuses on psychological literature - Sage Research Methods is, as the name suggests, dedicated to literature on research methodologies across the disciplines. The range of literature it contains includes a significant number of complete books (in full-text).

There are two main ways of using Sage Research Methods. If you know the methodology you are using - let's say Q Methodology - simply type that into the search box and, in this example, it returns 676 results. The results include complete books on the topic, book chapters, encyclopedia and dictionary entries, journal articles and even the occasional video. Select a result from the list and it immediately loads the full-text.

The other main way of using Sage Research Methods is for identifying appropriate methodologies for your research. To do this, choose the 'Methods Map' and it guides you through the various options.

With over 100,000 pages of content, including the text of 640 specialist books, this database provides a significant boost for researchers across UEL. Why not take a look, and let us know what you think?

A huge new citation database...

...called Scopus, has been added to the A-Z of databases subscribed to by UEL library. Scopus replaces our previous subscription to Web of Knowledge, and includes the vast majority of content held within Web of Knowledge plus considerably more. In fact, according to the marketing blurb, it is ‘the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature’ and ‘delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities’.

As far as the raw facts are concerned, it currently holds citations for over 50 million peer-reviewed articles from over 21,000 different journals. They have also just embarked on a major project to include book citations down to chapter level. As well as being a great way to find research, another key feature is its ability to analyse results e.g. showing you the main journals for that topic, or the publication history of authors. It is very simple to use, so why not take a look and see what you think.

Did you know? Official EBSCO PsycINFO tutorials...

...can now be found on the APA website: http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/tutorials.aspx. Make sure you choose the EBSCOhost option (it defaults to APA PsycNET) and you can then watch video walkthroughs of how to do various types of search, including advanced searches such as author affiliation and classification codes.

Further updates to PEP-Web...

...have gone live, only a short while after the previous update. They have added another year to the archive meaning it now covers 1871 to 2009 (the previous update added 2008, this one adds 2009). They have also added 3 new journals (well, 2 in the English language - the third one is in Greek!) and 27 new books. To access this excellent database of psychoanalytic literature, simply follow the link from the library website: PEP-Web.

New version of PEP database...

...now available from the library website: PEP (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing). The new version now includes an extra year of coverage (1871-2008, compared to 1871-2007 in the previous version) for all journals, plus five new journals, twelve new books and various new features.

Logging in to ScienceDirect...

...changes slightly from 1st December 2012. You will still need your Athens username and password, but there will be a slight change to when you sign in. More information is available on ScienceDirect's news page: Athens now OpenAthens.